Understanding Courses in Past Terms

T-Bot
Published: 1 month ago
Share:

Courses that are past their Term Dates or manually set Course Participation Dates are still visible to all instructors and participants, but prevent participation or modification after that date. Courses from previous terms are organized and accessible under the "All Courses" list from the Global Navigation menu.

Term Schedule

For fall, spring, and summer courses, the term end date has been set globally for August 31st.

For example:

  • Courses within the Fall 2022 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2022.
  • Courses within the Spring 2022 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2022.
  • Courses within the Summer 2022 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2022.

Levels of Access in Past Term Courses

When course terms or participation dates pass, you will still maintain specific kinds of access to the course. View this table below to learn more about the kinds of actions and access each role retains once a term or participation date has concluded:

ActionTerm Date Conclude
Instructor
Can view course contentYES
Can add/edit content NO 
 
Course appears in Dashboard NO
Course appears in Past Enrollments section YES
Student
Can view course contentYES
Can add/edit contentNO
Course appears in DashboardNO
Course appears in Past Enrollments sectionYES
General
Course enrollments are identified as "Prior Enrollments"NO
Can import content into next term courses (or new site)YES
Can be overridden/undoneYES
Who can override/undoADMIN
Official Course- Banner Feed Fix?NO

 

Viewing Courses in Past Term

1. In order to view courses from past terms (including those courses migrated from Classes*v2), click on "Courses" from the global navigation.

2. From the side menu that appears, click “All Courses.”

3. Under the "Past Enrollments" section, you will find a list of your past term courses.

Adding Users to Courses in Past Terms

When the course is in the past term, you cannot add users to the course (the +People button in the People tool will be grayed out or not present). 

0 Comments

Leave us your comments

Related Information

Assign an assignment to a course section

When creating or editing an assignment, you can assign an assignment to a specific course section. Y...

Accept an invitation to join a Canvas course as an instructor

If you are using Canvas through your institution, you will most likely already have a Canvas account...

How does Canvas work as a supplement to face-to-face courses?

Canvas provides tools that supplement face-to-face courses by providing additional information onlin...

Embed a Guides lesson inside a Canvas Course

Many of our clients are using Canvas Guides to build their own training modules inside Canvas. We th...